Dehradun (/ˌdɛrəˈduːn/) is the capital and the most populous city of the Indian state of Uttarakhand. It is also known as the school capital of India. It is the administrative headquarters of the eponymous district and is governed by the Dehradun Municipal Corporation, with the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly holding its winter sessions in the city as its winter capital.[13] Part of the Garhwal region, and housing the headquarters of its Divisional Commissioner. Dehradun is one of the "Counter Magnets" of the National Capital Region (NCR) being developed as an alternative center of growth to help ease the migration and population explosion in the Delhi metropolitan area and to establish a smart city in the Himalayas.[14][15] It is the third largest city in the Himalayas after Kathmandu and Srinagar.

Advertiser: Particular